Convincing Others of Your Mathematical Skills

A quick comment on – Levels of Convincing by Robert Kaplinsky

Link –> http://robertkaplinsky.com/levels-of-convincing/ <–

I don’t have a specific math class right now, but while teaching my Independent Ed program, I get to help with some calculus, pre-calculus, workplace mathematics, and foundations mathematics. When I did teach a class, it was rarely my most pressing expectation that I get students to explain their thinking and convince others that their work was correct. That was bad thinking, and bad practice on my part. But I tried previously, and the results were so basic, and non-descriptive, it felt like a waste of time.

I haven’t tried using some of the thinking or strategies referenced in the article yet. But this blog post by Robert Kaplinsky has me seeing there are some good ways of getting thinking going, and maybe just maybe, we could get students to provide some convincing arguments around mathematical thinking.

Read the post, it’s pretty interesting.

Leave a comment